Our Council

Otago Regional Council is responsible for managing Otago’s land, air and water resources on behalf of the community.

We also contract passenger transport services, play a role in transport planning, work to reduce the risk of flooding, and lead the planning for and response to natural disasters to help keep people and properties safe.

The Council was established in 1989 when the Otago Catchment Board, Otago Regional Water Board and pest management boards, noxious plants authorities, and united councils were amalgamated.

As well as looking after the environment, we take into account the people of Otago - their economic, cultural, and social needs.

Organisational Structure

Otago Regional Council is governed by 12 councillors, elected by the residents of Otago every three years. We employ approximately 200 people who are based around the region.

Our main administrative centre is in Dunedin, with satellite offices in Alexandra and Queenstown, and depots in Balclutha, Oamaru, Wanaka and Cromwell.

Our work is overseen by the Chief Executive Sarah Gardner (Sarah.Gardner@orc.govt.nz) and a team of five general managers.

Back to top
Online Maps & Data: