

# Safety and Resilience Committee MINUTES

Minutes of an ordinary meeting of the Safety and Resilience Committee held in the Council Chamber, Level 2 Philip Laing House, 144 Rattray Street, Dunedin on Wednesday 7 August 2024, commencing at 1:30PM.

# **PRESENT**

Cr Alan Somerville (Chair)

Cr Alexa Forbes

Cr Gary Kelliher (online)

Cr Michael Laws

Cr Kevin Malcolm

Cr Lloyd McCall

Cr Tim Mepham

Cr Andrew Noone

Cr Gretchen Robertson

Cr Bryan Scott

Cr Elliot Weir

Cr Kate Wilson

### 1. WELCOME

Chair Somerville welcomed Councillors, members of the public and staff to the meeting at 1:30pm with a karakia. Staff present included Richard Saunders (Chief Executive), Nick Donnelly, online (GM Corporate Services), Anita Dawe (GM Planning and Transport), Joanna Gilroy (GM Environmental Delivery), Tom Dyer (GM Science and Resilience) Kylie Darragh (Governance Support), Ann Conroy (Team Leader Natural Hazards Adaptation), Tim van Woerden, (Senior Natural Hazards Analyst), Jamie MacKenzie (Natural Hazards Adaptation Specialist), Jean-Luc Payan (Manager Natural Hazards).

The Chair noted to the Committee that the Natural Hazards Risk Assessments paper will now be coming to the Committee in November.

#### 2. APOLOGIES

There were no apologies for this meeting.

#### 3. PUBLIC FORUM

There were no requests to speak at Public Forum.

### 4. CONFIRMATION OF AGENDA

It was moved by Chair Somerville, seconded by Cr Weir:

**That** the agenda be confirmed as published.

**MOTION CARRIED** 

#### 5. DECLARATIONS OF INTERESTS

Members were reminded of the need to stand aside from decision-making when a conflict arises between their role as an elected representative and any private or other external interest they might have.

## 6. PRESENTATIONS

There were no Presentations for this meeting.

## 7. CONFIRMATION OF MINUTES

Resolution: Cr Wilson Moved, Cr Forbes Seconded

**That** the minutes of the Safety and Resilience Committee meeting held on 8 May 2024 be confirmed as a true and accurate record.

**MOTION CARRIED** 

# 8. OPEN ACTIONS FROM RESOLUTIONS OF THE COMMITTEE

There are currently no open actions for this Committee.

At 1:39 pm Cr Laws sat back from the table Cr Laws returned to the meeting at 2:03pm. Cr Scott left the meeting at 2:04pm. Cr Scott returned to the meeting at 2:05pm.

### 9. MATTERS FOR CONSIDERATION

# 9.1. Head of Lake Whakatipu Natural Hazards Adaptation

(YouTube 10:58) This report updated the Committee on progress towards development of a natural hazards adaptation strategy for the Head of Lake Whakatipu area. Ann Conroy (Team Leader Natural Hazards Adaptation) Tim van Woerden (Senior Natural Hazards Analyst), Jamie MacKenzie (Natural Hazards Adaptation Specialist), and Jean-Luc Payan (Manager Natural Hazards) were available to respond to questions.

### Resolution SRC24-110: Cr McCall Moved, Cr Weir Seconded

That the Safety and Resilience Committee:

- **1. Notes** this report.
- **2. Notes** the Head of Lake Whakatipu natural hazards adaptation work programme and community engagement.

#### **MOTION CARRIED**

## 9.2. Clutha Delta Natural Hazards Adaptation

(YouTube 41:31) This paper was brought to the Committee to provide an update on progress with the Clutha Delta natural hazards adaptation programme including engagement planning and natural hazards assessments. Ann Conroy (Team Leader Natural Hazards Adaptation), Tim van Woerden (Senior Natural Hazards Analyst), Jamie MacKenzie, (Natural Hazards Adaptation Specialist), Jean-Luc Payan (Manager Natural Hazards) were available to respond to questions.

# Resolution SRC24-111: Cr Malcolm Moved, Cr Forbes Seconded

That the Safety and Resilience Committee:

**1. Notes** this report.

### **MOTION CARRIED**

# 9.3. CDEM Partnership Report 2023 - 2024

(YouTube 1:07:23) To report on ORC's delivery of its responsibilities under the Otago Civil Defence and Emergency Management Agreement, for the second half of 2023/24. Tom Dyer (GM Science and Resilience) was available to respond to questions.

Cr Laws left the meeting at 3:00pm.

## Resolution SRC24-112: Cr Wilson Moved, Cr Weir Seconded

That the Safety and Resilience Committee:

1. **Notes** this report.

### **MOTION CARRIED**

Cr Laws returned to the meeting at 3:01pm.

## 12. CLOSURE

There was no further business and Chair Somerville declared the meeting closed at 3:01pm with a karakia.