

# **Environmental Science and Policy Committee MINUTES**

Minutes of an ordinary meeting of the Environmental Policy and Science Committee held in the Council Chamber, Level 2 Philip Laing House, 144 Rattray Street, Dunedin on Wednesday 20 March 2024, commencing at 9:00 AM.

## **PRESENT**

Mr Edward Ellison

(Chairperson)

Cr Lloyd McCall

Ms Karen Coutts

Cr Alexa Forbes

Cr Gary Kelliher

Cr Michael Laws

Cr Kevin Malcolm

Cr Tim Mepham

Cr Andrew Noone

Cr Gretchen Robertson

Cr Bryan Scott

Cr Alan Somerville

Cr Elliot Weir

Cr Kate Wilson

#### 1. WELCOME

Chairperson Edward Ellison welcomed Councillors, Iwi Representative members of the public and staff to the meeting at 9.00AM and opened with a karakia. Staff present included Richard Saunders (Chief Executive), Anita Dawe (GM Policy and Science), Gavin Palmer (GM Operations), Joanna Gilroy (Acting GM Regulatory), Amanda Vercoe (GM Governance, Culture and Customer), Trudi McLaren (Governance Support), Fleur Matthews (Manager Policy and Planning) Tom Dyer (Manager Science) James Adams (Senior Policy Analyst).

## 2. APOLOGIES [YouTube 7:40]

The apology from Cr Laws for lateness was noted.

## 3. PUBLIC FORUM [YouTube 7:45]

Aaron Hawkins Chair of the Cosy Homes Charitable Trust spoke and after an opportunity for questions, Chair Ellison thanked them for attending.

Cr Scott sat back for this item as he is a Trustee of the Cosy Homes Charitable Trust and left the meeting at 9:02AM.

Bevan Wilson of the Strath Taieri Irrigation Group spoke and after an opportunity for questions Chair Ellison thanked them for attending.

Cr Wilson sat back for this item.

Cr Scott returned to the meeting at 9:28 am.

## 4. CONFIRMATION OF AGENDA [YouTube 31:40]

Resolution: Chair Ellison Moved/Cr Weir Seconded
That the agenda be confirmed as published.
MOTION CARRIED

## 5. DECLARATIONS OF INTERESTS [YouTube 31:45]

No changes to Councillor Declarations of Interests were noted. Councillors were reminded to signal to the Chair any conflicts of interest arising during the meeting.

Cr Scott sat back during the Public Forum presentation from Cosy Homes Charitable Trust Cr Wilson sat back during the Public Forum presentation from Strath Taieri Irrigation Group

## 6. PRESENTATIONS

No requests to present were received.

## 7. CONFIRMATION OF MINUTES [YouTube 32:16]

Resolution: Cr Weir Moved, Cr Noone Seconded

That the minutes of the Environmental Science and Policy Meeting held on 13 December 2023 be received and confirmed as a true and accurate record.

#### **MOTION CARRIED**

#### 8. OPEN ACTIONS FROM RESOLUTIONS OF THE COMMITTEE

There are currently no open actions for this committee.

#### 9. MATTERS FOR CONSIDERATION

#### 9.1. Air quality activities 2023 update [YouTube 32:56]

The purpose of this report was to present the results of two air quality projects undertaken during 2023: black carbon monitoring in Arrowtown and spatial PM<sub>10</sub> monitoring in Alexandra.

Anita Dawe (GM Policy and Science), Tom Dyer (Manager Science) and Sarah Harrison (Scientist Air Quality) were present to speak to the report and respond to questions.

#### Resolution ESP24-101: Edward Ellison Moved, Cr Wilson Seconded

That the Council:

1) **Notes** the two studies undertaken as part of the Air Quality programme.

## **MOTION CARRIED**

## 9.2. Port Otago air quality screening study [YouTube 1:05:43]

This report presented the results of an air quality pilot study for sulphur dioxide (SO<sub>2</sub>) undertaken at Port Otago during 2022-2023.

Anita Dawe (GM Policy and Science), Tom Dyer (Manager Science) and Sarah Harrison (Scientist Air Quality) were present to speak to the report and respond to questions.

## Resolution ESP24-102: Cr Malcolm Moved, Cr Somerville Seconded

That the Committee:

- 1) **Notes** this report.
- 2) **Notes** staff recommendation that further monitoring of  $SO_2$  is not required at this time.

#### **MOTION CARRIED**

#### 9.3. Annual Air Quality Report 2023 [YouTube 1:11:41]

This annual report discussed the results of the State of the Environment (SOE) monitoring for air quality for the year 2023.

Anita Dawe (GM Policy and Science), Tom Dyer (Manager Science) and Sarah Harrison (Scientist Air Quality) were present to speak to the report and respond to questions.

Cr Scott returned to the meeting at 10:11 am.

## Resolution ESP24-103: Cr Weir Moved, Cr Forbes Seconded

That the Council:

1) **Notes** this report.

#### **MOTION CARRIED**

## **10. CLOSURE**

There was no further business and Chairperson Ellison declared the meeting closed at 10:13 AM and gave a karakia.

Chairperson Date