

Safety and Resilience Committee MINUTES

Minutes of an ordinary meeting of the Safety and Resilience Committee held in the Council Chamber, Level 2 Philip Laing House, 144 Rattray Street, Dunedin on Thursday 10 August 2023, commencing at 1PM

(Co-Chairperson)

(Co-Chairperson)

PRESENT

Cr Gary Kelliher (online)

Cr Alan Somerville

Cr Alexa Forbes

Cr Michael Laws (online)

Cr Kevin Malcolm

Cr Lloyd McCall

Cr Tim Mepham

Cr Andrew Noone

Cr Gretchen Robertson

Cr Bryan Scott

Cr Elliot Weir

Cr Kate Wilson

1. WELCOME

Chairperson Cr Alan Somerville welcomed Councillors, members of the public and staff to the meeting at 1:00PM. Staff present included Richard Saunders (Chief Executive), Nick Donnelly, online (GM Corporate Services), Anita Dawe (GM Policy and Science), Gavin Palmer (GM Operations), Amanda Vercoe (GM Governance, Culture and Customer), Joanne Gilroy (Acting General Manager Regulatory) Jean-Luc Payan (Manager Natural Hazards), Michelle Mifflin (Manager Engineering), Jonathan Rowe (Programme Manager, Dunedin City Council), Ann Conroy (Team Leader Natural Hazards Adaptation), Tim van Woerden (Natural Hazards Analyst), Jamie MacKenzie (Natural Hazards Adaptation Specialist), Kylie Darragh (Governance Support)

2. APOLOGIES

There were no apologies.

3. PUBLIC FORUM

No requests to speak were received.

4. CONFIRMATION OF AGENDA

The agenda was confirmed as published.

5. DECLARATIONS OF INTERESTS

No changes to Councillor Declarations of Interests were noted.

6. CONFIRMATION OF MINUTES

Resolution: Cr Noone Moved, Cr Wilson Seconded

That the minutes of the Safety and Resilience Committee meeting held on 10 May 2023 be received and confirmed as a true and accurate record.

MOTION CARRIED

7. OPEN ACTIONS FROM RESOLUTIONS OF THE COMMITTEE

There are no current open actions for this Committee.

8. MATTERS FOR CONSIDERATION

8.1. South Dunedin - Programme Update

This report provided an update on the South Dunedin Future programme and foreshadowed the anticipated work plan through to mid-2024. Jean-Luc Payan, Jonathan Rowe and Gavin Palmer were available for questions. After questions it was moved by Cr Mepham:

Resolution SRC23-105: Cr Mepham Moved, Cr Wilson Seconded

That the Strategy and Resilience Committee:

1) **Notes** this report providing an update on the South Dunedin Future programme.

MOTION CARRIED

Cr Noone left the meeting at 1:35pm Cr Noone returned to the meeting at 1:40pm

8.2. Head of Lake Wakatipu Natural Hazards Adaptation

This report informed the Committee of the approach and progress towards development of a natural hazards adaptation strategy for the area at the head of Lake Whakatipu. Ann Conroy, Tim van Woerden, Jamie MacKenzie, Jean-Luc Payan and Gavin Palmer were available for questions on the paper. After discussion Cr Forbes moved:

Resolution SRC23-106: Cr Forbes Moved, Cr Weir Seconded

That the Safety and Resilience Committee:

- 1) Notes this report.
- 2) **Notes** the Head of Lake Whakatipu natural hazards adaptation work programme and community engagement.

MOTION CARRIED

8.3. Programme Update; Climate Resilience, Flood repairs and Project

This paper provided an update on the progress of the Otago Regional Council Climate Resilience Programme ("shovel-ready" flood protection engineering projects), recovery from the 2020 and 2022 flood events, and the recent storm damage to ORC infrastructure at the confluence of the Pureua River and Koau branch of the Clutha River/Mata-Au. Brett Patterson and Michelle Mifflin and Cassie Newman, online, (Engineering Analyst) were available to answer questions.

Resolution SRC23-107: Cr Wilson Moved, Cr Weir Seconded

That the Safety and Resilience Committee:

- 1) Receives this report.
- 2) **Notes** the progress with ORC's Climate Resilience Programme and recovery
- 3) **Notes** the recent storm damage near the confluence of the Pureua River and Koau branch of the Clutha/Mata-Au River.

MOTION CARRIED

8.4. CEDM Partnership Report 2022 – 2023

The paper provided a report on ORC's delivery of its responsibilities under the Otago Civil Defense and Emergency Management Agreement, for 2022/23. Gavin Palmer and Matthew Alley online (CDEM, Otago) were available for questions.

Resolution SRC23-108: Cr Malcolm Moved, Cr Forbes Seconded

That the Safety and Resilience Committee:

1) Notes this report.

MOTION CARRIED

12. CLOSURE

Cr Somerville said a karakia to close the meeting at 3:07PM.

•	
an hill.	9/11/2023
Chairperson	Date