INITIAL PROPOSAL FOR REPRESENTATION ARRANGEMENTS FOR THE 2025 LOCAL ELECTIONS

On 26 June 2024 the Otago Regional Council reviewed its representation arrangements, and resolved that the following proposal apply for the Council for the elections to be held on 11 October 2025:

Council Representation

It is proposed that the Council comprise 12 members elected from four constituencies. The four constituencies reflect the following identified communities of interest:

| Constituency | Communities of interest | | |
|-----------------------|--|--|--|
| Moeraki Constituency | Comprising the Otago portion of the Waitaki District territorial area, being part of the Ahuriri and Corriedale wards, and the entirety of the Oamaru ward and Waihemo ward. | | |
| Dunedin Constituency | Comprising the central Dunedin and the Waikouaiti Coast, West Harbour, Otago Peninsula and Saddle Hill community board areas located within the Dunedin City territorial area. | | |
| Dunstan Constituency | Comprising the Central Otago District and Queenstown Lakes District territorial areas. | | |
| Molyneux Constituency | cy Comprising the Clutha District territorial area and Mosgiel-Taieri and Strath-Taieri community board areas located within the Dunedin City territorial area. | | |

The population that each member will represent is as follows:

| Constituency | Population (2018 census) | Members | Population per member |
|-----------------------|-----------------------------|---------|--------------------------|
| Moeraki Constituency | 22,300 | 1 | 22,300 |
| Dunedin Constituency | 115,200 | 5 | 23,040 |
| Dunstan Constituency | 78,800 | 4 | 19,700 |
| Molyneux Constituency | 38,300 | 2 | 19,150 |
| Total | 254,600 | 12 | 21,217 |

In accordance with section 19V(2), Local Electoral Act 2001 the population that each member represents must be within the range of X + -10% (X), unless particular community of interest considerations justify otherwise.

All of the proposed constituencies fall within the stipulated range.

Further Information

Copies of the Council's resolution and maps setting out the areas of the proposed constituencies may be viewed and obtained from

- ORC Dunedin office: 144 Rattray Street, Level 2, Philip Laing House, Dunedin
- **ORC Queenstown office**: 1092 Frankton Road, Alta House Level 1, Terrace Junction, Frankton, Queenstown

Any queries regarding the Council's decision should be directed to Amanda Vercoe, 0800 474 082, <u>governance@orc.govt.nz</u>

Relevant information is also available on the Council's website orc.govt.nz/RepReview24

Submissions are invited

Persons with an interest in the proposed representation arrangements are invited to make written submissions on the Council's representation proposal.

Submissions are to be forwarded to:

- Attention Amanda Vercoe, 0800 474 082
- Physical address Council Offices
 - o ORC Dunedin office: 144 Rattray Street, Level 2, Philip Laing House, Dunedin
 - o **ORC Queenstown office**: 1092 Frankton Road, Alta House Level 1, Terrace Junction, Frankton, Queenstown
- Email <u>governance@orc.govt.nz</u>

Submissions must be received by Council no later than 11 August 2024.

Richard Saunders Chief Executive 10 July 2024

