

Safety and Resilience Committee MINUTES

Minutes of an ordinary meeting of the Safety and Resilience Committee held in the Council Chamber, Level 2 Philip Laing House, 144 Rattray Street, Dunedin on Thursday 8 February 2024, commencing at 11:00AM

https://www.youtube.com/live/0wwiEc53yCc?si=vXKfRNAGAy-jeYxq

PRESENT

Cr Alan Somerville Cr Gary Kelliher Cr Michael Laws Cr Kevin Malcolm Cr Lloyd McCall Cr Tim Mepham Cr Andrew Noone Cr Gretchen Robertson Cr Elliot Weir Cr Kate Wilson (Chairperson)

1. WELCOME

Chairperson Somerville welcomed Councillors, members of the public and staff to the meeting at 11:00am. Staff present included Richard Saunders (Chief Executive), Anita Dawe (GM Policy and Science), Gavin Palmer (GM Operations), Amanda Vercoe (GM Governance, Culture and Customer), Kylie Darragh (Governance Support) Jean-Luc Payan (Manager Natural Hazards); Simon Robinson (Team leader Natural Hazards Analysis) Simon Cox (Geological and Nuclear Sciences Limited) and staff from Tonkin +Taylor Ltd (online)

2. APOLOGIES

Resolution: Cr Noone Moved, Cr Wilson Seconded:

That the apologies for Cr Forbes, Cr Scott, and Cr Laws (for lateness) be accepted. MOTION CARRIED

3. PUBLIC FORUM

No requests to address the Committee under Public Forum were received.

4. CONFIRMATION OF AGENDA

The agenda was confirmed as published.

5. DECLARATIONS OF INTERESTS

Councillors were reminded of their need to stand aside if any conflict arose. No changes to the Councillor Register of Interests were advised.

6. CONFIRMATION OF MINUTES

Resolution: Cr Wilson Moved, Cr Weir Seconded

That the minutes of the Safety and Resilience Committee held on 9 November 2023, be confirmed as a true and accurate record.

MOTION CARRIED

7. OPEN ACTIONS FROM RESOLUTIONS OF THE COMMITTEE

OPS2326 updated by Cr Robertson who explained that this action first needs to be considered by the joint committee in March, before any correspondence is sent.

8. MATTERS FOR CONSIDERATION

8.1. Dunedin groundwater monitoring and spatial observations (YouTube 12:40)

This report sought to inform and update the Committee on the findings of a report authored by Geological and Nuclear Sciences Limited (GNS) on South Dunedin and Harbourside groundwater monitoring, spatial observations and forecast conditions under sea level rise. Simon Robinson (Team leader Natural Hazards Analysis) Jean-Luc Payan, (Manager Natural Hazards) and Gavin Palmer (General Manager Operations) presented a PowerPoint of supporting material from GNS and answered questions.

Resolution SRC24-101: Cr Kelliher Moved, Cr McCall Seconded

That the Committee:

1. **Receives** this report by GNS; Dunedin groundwater monitoring, spatial observations and forecast conditions under sea level rise.

MOTION CARRIED

8.2. Clutha Delta Natural Hazards Adaptation (YouTube 56:40)

This report on progress with the Clutha Delta natural hazards adaptation programme including engagement planning, and the significant erosion damage at the Koau/Puerua coastal mouth. Ann Conroy, Team Leader Natural Hazards Adaptation Jamie MacKenzie (Natural Hazards Adaptation Specialist), Tim van Woerden (Senior Natural Hazards Analyst) Simon Robinson (Team Leader Natural Hazards Analysis), Jean-Luc Payan (Manager Natural Hazards), and Gavin Palmer (General Manager Operations) were available to respond to questions on the report.

Resolution SRC24-102: Cr Malcolm Moved, Cr Kelliher Seconded

That the Safety and Resilience Committee:

- 1. Notes this report.
- 2. **Notes** the Clutha Delta natural hazards adaptation work programme and community engagement planning.
- 3. Notes the coastal erosion situation at the Koau/Puerua mouth.

MOTION CARRIED

Chair Somerville moved and Cr Robertson seconded *that the Committee adjourn for lunch from 12noon to 12:30pm.* **MOTION CARRIED**

8.3. Head of Lake Whakatipu Natural Hazards Adaptation (YouTube 1:38)

This paper sought to update the Committee on progress towards development of a natural hazards adaptation strategy for the Head of Lake Whakatipu area. Ann Conroy (Team Leader Natural Hazards Adaptation) Jean-Luc Payan (Manager Natural Hazards) and Gavin Palmer (General Manager Operations) were available to respond to questions.

Resolution SRC24-103: Cr Wilson Moved, Cr Malcolm Seconded

That the Safety and Resilience Committee:

- 1. Notes this report.
- 2. **Notes** the Head of Lake Whakatipu natural hazards adaptation work programme and community engagement. Noting the revised timetable.

MOTION CARRIED

8.4 Lower Taieri Risk Assessment (YouTube 1:49)

The report informed the Committee of the findings of the Lower Taieri Flood Protection Scheme Floodbank Risk Assessment and to provide an overview of the wider ORC programme of flood infrastructure risk management for the Taieri Plain. Ellyse Gore (Project Manager – Special Projects) Brett Paterson (Team Leader Programme Management), Michelle Mifflin (Manager engineering), Jean-Luc Payan (Manager Natural Hazards) Gavin Palmer (General Manager Operations) and staff from Tonkin + Taylor Ltd (online) shared a PowerPoint of relevant slides and responded to questions on the report.

Resolution SRC24-104: Cr Weir Moved, Cr Noone Seconded

That the Safety and Resilience Committee:

- 1. Notes this report.
- 2. **Notes** the report by Tonkin + Taylor Ltd; Taieri Flood Protection Scheme, Flood bank Risk Assessment, *dated November 2023*.
- 3. **Notes** the programme of work underway that will reduce the flood risk for the Lower Taieri floodplain.
- 4. **Recommends that Council endorses** proceeding with communication of the Flood bank Risk Assessment to the broader community though the development of a Phase 1 Communications and Engagement Plan for the risk assessment and wider programme of work.

MOTION CARRIED

Cr Laws joined the meeting at 1:02pm.

8.5 Wildfire Hazard in Otago (YouTube 2:44)

The report informed the Committee of wildfire risk for Otago and Otago Regional Council's responsibilities for managing the risk. Jean-Luc Payan (Manager Natural Hazards) Matt Alley (Manager Emergency Management) and Gavin Palmer (General Manager Operations).

Mr Payan noted that the figures for the Otago Region were defined by Fire and Emergency New Zealand (FENZ) for this report.

Resolution SRC24-105: Cr Weir Moved, Cr Noone Seconded

That the Safety and Resilience Committee:

- 1. **Notes** the wildfire risk for Otago and ORC's responsibilities associated with managing that risk.
- 2. **Recommends that Council approves** ORC, through its membership of the Otago CDEM Group, promoting discussion amongst the Group on current and future wildfire risk for Otago including member roles and responsibilities for managing that risk.
- 3. **Requests** that the Safety and Resilience Committee is updated on the Otago CDEM Group's discussion at its next meeting.

MOTION CARRIED

8.6. CDEM Partnership Report 2023 – 2024 (YouTube 3:06)

To report on ORC's delivery of its responsibilities under the Otago Civil Defence and Emergency Management Agreement, for the first six months of 2023/24. Gavin Palmer (General Manager Operations) and Matt Alley (Manager Emergency Management) were available to answer questions.

Resolution SRC24-106: Cr Kelliher Moved, Cr Noone Seconded

That the Safety and Resilience Committee:

1. Notes this report. MOTION CARRIED

9. CLOSURE

There was no further business and Chair Somerville thanked everyone for their attendance, their input and attention and the work that had gone into bringing the reports to the Committee. After a karakia the meeting was declared closed at 2:00 PM.

an mil.

08.05.2024

Chairperson

Date