

Environmental Science and Policy Committee MINUTES

Minutes of an ordinary meeting of the Environmental Policy and Science Committee held in the Council Chamber, Level 2 Philip Laing House, 144 Rattray Street, Dunedin on Thursday 27 June 2024, commencing at 11:15 AM.

PRESENT

Cr Lloyd McCall	(Chairperson)
•	(chun person)
Cr Alexa Forbes	
Cr Gary Kelliher	
Cr Michael Laws	(online)
Cr Kevin Malcolm	
Cr Tim Mepham	
Cr Andrew Noone	
Cr Gretchen Robertson	
Cr Bryan Scott	
Cr Alan Somerville	
Cr Elliot Weir	
Cr Kate Wilson	

1. WELCOME

Chair McCall welcomed Councillors, members of the public and staff to the meeting at 11:15am. Staff present included Richard Saunders (Chief Executive), Anita Dawe (GM Policy and Science), Joanna Gilroy (Acting GM Regulatory), Amanda Vercoe (GM Governance, Culture and Customer), Kylie Darragh (Governance Support), and Tom Dyer (Manager, Science) Sarah Harrison (Scientist - Air Quality), Jason Augspurger (Senior Scientist Freshwater Ecology), Scott Jarvie (Scientist, Biodiversity), Ben Mackey (Team Leader – Land) Mark Crawford (Scientist - Land and Soil) Helen Trotter (Water Quality Scientist).

2. APOLOGIES

Apologies for Edward Ellison and Karen Coutts were noted. Also noted were apologies for Cr Mepham and Cr Forbes for early departures.

3. PUBLIC FORUM

There were no requests to speak at this meeting.

4. CONFIRMATION OF AGENDA

Recommendation moved Cr Wilson, Cr McCall seconded that:

The agenda be confirmed as published.

5. DECLARATIONS OF INTERESTS

The Chair reminded Councillors of the need to stand aside if a conflict of interest arises. No changes to Councillor Declarations of Interests were noted.

6. PRESENTATIONS

No presentations were held.

7. CONFIRMATION OF MINUTES

Resolution ESP24-104: Cr McCall Moved, Cr Somerville Seconded

That the minutes of the Environmental Science and Policy Committee meeting held on 20 March 2024 be confirmed as a true and accurate record including a correction. **MOTION CARRIED**

8. OPEN ACTIONS FROM RESOLUTIONS OF THE COMMITTEE

There are currently no open actions for this committee.

9. MATTERS FOR CONSIDERATION

9.1. SOE Air Quality Trends

(YouTube:00:10:55) This report was brought to the committee to share the State of the Environment (SOE) report: Air quality trends 2005 – 2023 and to briefly summarise the SOE reports' key findings. Sarah Harrison (Scientist, Air Quality) Tom Dyer (Manager, Science) and Anita Dawe (GM Policy and Science) were available to respond to questions.

Resolution ESP24-106: Cr Wilson Moved, Cr Forbes Seconded

That the Environmental Science & Policy Committee:

1) Notes this report.

MOTION CARRIED

9.2. Annual Water Quality Report 2023

(YouTube 00:35:22) The purpose of this report was to present the Water Quality and Biomonitoring report 2018-2023 to the Committee. The report presented the most recent results of State of the Environment (SoE) monitoring undertaken to inform attribute tables in Appendix 2A and Appendix 2B of the National Policy Statement for Freshwater Management (NPSFM, 2020).. Jason Augspurger (Senior Scientist Freshwater Ecology), Anita Dawe (GM Policy and Science), Tom Dyer (Manager, Science) were available to respond to questions on the report which was noted to still be in draft with some proofing required.

Resolution ESP24-107: Cr Robertson Moved, Cr Wilson Seconded

That the Environmental Science & Policy Committee:

1) Notes this report.

MOTION CARRIED

At 12:30pm the committee adjourned for lunch and reconvened at 1:05pm. Cr Mepham left the meeting at 12:30pm.

Cr Laws left the meeting at 1:35pm.

9.3. Regional conservation statuses in Otago

(YouTube 02:20:00) This paper set out work currently underway in the biodiversity area at ORC to document indigenous biodiversity. It overviewed the development of regional threat classifications and included details of regional conservation statuses for the species groups of indigenous vascular plants and amphibians in Otago. Scott Jarvie (Scientist, Biodiversity), Tom Dyer (Manager, Science) and Anita Dawe (GM Policy and Science) were available to respond to questions.

Resolution ESP24-108: Cr Weir Moved, Cr Wilson Seconded

That the Environmental Science & Policy Committee:

- 1) Notes this report.
- 2) Notes that the regional threat assessment for other species (taxonomic) groups will continue as part of the biodiversity work programme.

MOTION CARRIED

Cr Forbes left the meeting at 1:51pm.

9.4. Land & Soil Monitoring Update

(YouTube 02:38:46) This report provided an annual update on the Land and Soil work programme. Ben Mackey (Team Leader – Land) Mark Crawford (Scientist - Land and Soil) Anita Dawe (GM Policy and Science) and Tom Dyer (Manager, Science) were available to respond to questions.

Resolution ESP24-109: Cr Robertson Moved, Cr Malcolm Seconded

That the Environmental Science & Policy Committee:

1) Notes this report.

MOTION CARRIED

9.5. Contact Recreation 2024 Annual Report Card

(YouTube 03:07:40) The contact recreation programme monitors faecal indicator bacteria and potentially toxic cyanobacteria at 20 freshwater and 16 coastal sites across the Otago Region to assess risks to human health during the summer bathing period. This report provided an overview of the programme and included a report card summarising the results of weekly monitoring undertaken during the 2023-24 season. Helen Trotter (Water Quality Scientist) Anita Dawe (GM Policy and Science) and Tom Dyer (Manager, Science) were available to respond to questions on the report.

Resolution ESP24-110: Cr Weir Moved, Cr Wilson Seconded

That the Environmental Science & Policy Committee:

1) Notes this report.

MOTION CARRIED

10. CLOSURE

There was no further business and Chair McCall declared the meeting closed at 2:33pm.

26 September 2024

Chairperson

Date