

Safety and Resilience Committee MINUTES

Minutes of an ordinary meeting of the Safety and Resilience Committee held in the Council Chamber, Level 2 Philip Laing House, 144 Rattray Street, Dunedin on Thursday 7 November 2024, commencing at 1:00 PM.

PRESENT

Cr Gary Kelliher (Chairperson)

Cr Alan Somerville

Cr Alexa Forbes (online)
Cr Michael Laws (online)

Cr Kevin Malcolm Cr Lloyd McCall Cr Tim Mepham

Cr Andrew Noone

Cr Gretchen Robertson

Cr Elliot Weir Cr Kate Wilson

1. WELCOME

Chair Kelliher welcomed Councillors, members of the public and staff to the meeting at 1 pm. Staff present included Richard Saunders (Chief Executive), Anita Dawe (GM Regional Planning and Transport), Tom Dyer (GM Manager Science and Resilience) Joanna Gilroy (GM Environmental Delivery), Amanda Vercoe (GM Strategy and Customer, Deputy CE), Kylie Darragh (Governance Support).

2. APOLOGIES

Resolution: Cr Somerville Moved, Cr Noone Seconded:

That the apologies for Cr Mepham and Cr Robertson (for lateness) be accepted.

MOTION CARRIED

3. PUBLIC FORUM

No requests to address the Committee under Public Forum were received.

4. CONFIRMATION OF AGENDA

The agenda was confirmed as published.

5. DECLARATIONS OF INTERESTS

No changes to Councillor Declarations of Interests were noted.

6. PRESENTATIONS

No presentations were held.

7. CONFIRMATION OF MINUTES

Resolution: Cr Somerville Moved, Cr Weir Seconded

That the minutes of the Safety and Resilience Committee meeting held on 7 August 2024 be received and confirmed as a true and accurate record.

MOTION CARRIED

8. OPEN ACTIONS FROM RESOLUTIONS OF THE COMMITTEE

There are currently no open actions for this committee.

Cr Robertson joined the meeting at 1:20 pm.

9. MATTERS FOR CONSIDERATION

9.1. Roxburgh Natural Hazards Management

[YouTube 9:10] This paper updated the Council on the progress with the Roxburgh debris flows hazard management programme. Julion Wright, Natural Hazards Analyst, Tim van Woerden, Acting Manager Natural Hazards and Tom Dyer, General Manager Science and Resilience were available to respond to questions on the report.

Resolution SRC24-113: Cr Malcolm Moved, Cr McCall Seconded

That the Committee:

1. Notes this report.

MOTION CARRIED

9.2. Head of Lake Whakatipu Natural Hazards Adaptation Programme

[YouTube 46:35] This report updated the Committee on the progress related to the development of a natural hazard's adaptation strategy for the Head of the Lake Whakatipu area. Toan Nguyen, Senior Natural Hazards Adaptation Specialist (online), Ann Conroy, Team Leader Natural Hazards Adaptation, Tim van Woerden, Acting Manager Natural Hazards, Tom Dyer, General Manager Science and Resilience were present to respond to questions.

Resolution SRC24-114: Cr Somerville Moved, Cr Wilson Seconded

That the Committee:

- 1. Notes this report.
- **2. Notes** the Head of Lake Whakatipu natural hazards adaptation work programme progress and expenditure update.
- 3. Recommends that Council endorses the use of the information presented in the recent reports 1) Glenorchy and Kinloch natural hazards risk analysis, and 2) assessments of floodplain management interventions for the Dart and Rees Floodplains to inform natural hazards management and adaptation planning for the Head of Lake Whakatipu area.

MOTION CARRIED

9.3. North East Valley Flood Risk Mitigation

[Youtube 1:01:00] This paper updated the committee on the programme for investigations into reducing the flood risk in North East Valley (Lindsay Creek). Tim van Woerden, Senior Natural Hazards Analyst (Acting Manager Natural Hazards), Tom Dyer, General Manager Science and Resilience, were available to respond to questions.

Resolution SRC24-115: Cr Wilson Moved, Cr Noone Seconded

That the Committee:

- 1. Notes this report.
- **2. Notes** the significance of the flood hazard risk in North East Valley.
- **3. Endorse** the need for a programme for investigations into reducing the flood risk in North East Valley.
- **4. Notes** the proposed programme for investigations into reducing the flood risk in North East Valley part of the draft Long-Term Plan 2024-2034 and the Infrastructure Strategy 2024-2054.

MOTION CARRIED

9.4. Otago Region Natural Hazards Prioritisation

[YouTube 1:20:10] This paper presented the approach developed for the prioritisation of future natural hazards activities within the Otago region. Tim van Woerden, Senior Natural Hazards Analyst, Acting Manager Natural Hazards, Tom Dyer, General Manager Science and Resilience, were available to respond to questions.

Resolution SRC24-116: Cr Malcolm Moved, Cr Somerville Seconded

That the Committee:

- **1. Notes** this report.
- **2. Notes** the proposed scope and intent of the natural hazard's prioritisation framework.

MOTION CARRIED

10. CLOSURE			
There was no further bus	ness and Chair Kellihe	er declared the meeting closed	at 2:25 pm.
Chairperson	Date		

