IN THE HIGH COURT OF NEW ZEALAND DUNEDIN REGISTRY

I TE KŌTI MATUA O AOTEAROA ŌTEPOTI ROHE

CIV-2024-412-41

BETWEEN

OCEANA GOLD (NEW ZEALAND) LIMITED Appellant

AND

OTAGO REGIONAL COUNCIL Respondent

Hearing:	On the papers
Counsel:	J St John and S Christensen for Oceana Gold (New Zealand) Limited S J Anderson and T M Sefton for Otago Regional Council
Date of Minute:	14 November 2024

MINUTE OF HARLAND J (Federated Farmers withdrawal)

[1] Federated Farmer of New Zealand Incorporated (Federated Farmers) is a s 301 party to the Oceana Gold (New Zealand) Ltd (Oceana Gold) appeal. Some of the points on appeal were resolved at mediation and are the subject of a joint memorandum seeking orders by consent. Federated Farmers' involvement in this was limited to the appeal points concerning wetlands, and it has agreed to abide by the outcome of mediation for the remaining appeal points.

[2] Oceana Gold's remaining appeal point (LF-YWAI-01) is one in which Federated Farmers has no interest. Federated Farmers has given notice that it wishes to withdraw its interest on this appeal point. It notes there are no issues as to costs.

[3] The file is noted that Federated Farmers has withdrawn its s 301 interest on this appeal point.

[4] Oceana Gold are to advise if there are any issues as to costs. An email to the High Court Registry will suffice. If this is the case, I will formally note that in a subsequent minute responding to the joint application by Oceana Gold and the Otago Fish and Game Council and Central South Island Fish and Game Council for these two appeals (which have been consolidated) to be placed on hold. I anticipate dealing with this matter next week.

Harland J

Counsel:

J St John and S Christensen for Oceana Gold (New Zealand) Ltd S J Anderson and T M Sefton, Ross Dowling Marquet Griffin for Otago Regional Council.

Interested Parties in proceeding CIV-2024-412-41:

M Downing and P Anderson for Royal Forest & Bird Protection Society Inc

J Campbell and B Watts, Meredith Connell for Queenstown Lakes District Council

L Burkhardt for Manawa Energy Limited

C Thomsen and K Simonsen, Fletcher Vautier Moore for Beef and Lamb New Zealand Ltd

B Irving and P Page, Gallaway Cook Allan for Otago Water Resource User Group Inc.

H Jopp for Federated Farmers of New Zealand Incorporated

M Baker-Galloway and L McLaughlan, Anderson Lloyd for NZSki Limited and Real Group Limited.